Day 5 – Eastport to Lubec – September 15
Although we can see from Eastport the outline of our day’s destination across the bay in Lubec, we have some riding to do to get there by bicycle. We retrace our route to Perry, then head west around Cobscook Bay. For riders who want to experience Reversing Falls, a favorite playground for seals, there is an 8-mile round trip ride from Pembroke down Leighton Peninsula to Reversing Falls Park. This natural phenomenon is best viewed 1-2 hours prior to the day’s high tide at 10:15 a.m. From Pembroke, the route skirts Denny’s Bay. In Whiting, a sharp left turn will put you on the route to Lubec.
**Optional visit to Campobello Island for those who have a valid passport.
Mileage: 54.9 miles (46 miles without side trip to Reversing Falls)
Elevation Gain: 3,095 feet
Lubec was settled in 1758 by Acadians from Nova Scotia. Initially incorporated as a part of Eastport, Lubec became a separate town in 1811. Its growth was fueled by shipbuilding and smoked herring and, when the large herring for curing became scarce, by small herring, or sardines.
The sardine packing factories and smoke houses are gone and Lubec’s storefronts now are occupied by gift shops, restaurants, a local microbrewery, and the historic McCurdy Smokehouse museum. Fishermen harvest lobsters, scallops and other shellfish from Cobscook Bay. Tourists looking for a true Down East experience appreciate Lubec’s recreational boating, whale tours and the Lubec – Eastport Ferry. The eastern most point of land in the continental United States is located in Quoddy Head State Park, known for its classic lighthouse, ocean views and walking trails. For those carrying a valid passport, a short bridge links Lubec to Campobello Island, home to Roosevelt International Park.
The BikeMaine Village is located in the sports fields adjacent to the Lubec Consolidated School, with its view of the Quoddy Narrows.
For more information about Lubec visit: VisitLubecMaine.com